Chargement Évènements

« Back

Yves Oppenheim


2012-09-13 - 2012-11-03, Genève

  • Cet évènement est passé

L’emploi du langage abstrait dans ses peintures se manifeste par un traitement pictural proche du baroque. Des formes de couleurs vives et lumineuses, aux contours clairement dessinés, contrastent avec des courbes noires. La texture, de l’opaque au transparent, offre un jeu dans lequel les formes s’entrelacent et se superposent sur la surface.

La peinture, pour l’artiste, consiste à capter et à extraire ce qui résiste. « Une archéologie individuelle » qui l’amène à explorer les strates d’un « inconscient collectif ». L’énergie investie pour en extraire des formes s’exprimerait dans la densité et la superposition des couches présentes dans ses tableaux. L’acte de peindre, explique Oppenheim, « c’est affronter physiquement son inconscient. […] La peinture ne se fait pas avec des idées, mais avec le corps. C’est un travail de compréhension du monde par le corps. Il ne s’agit pas d’avoir des idées, mais au contraire de les éliminer ».

Oppenheim remet en question l’idée même de l’image. Les formes composant le tableau, superposées, entrelacées et transparentes, aboutissent simultanément à des constructions et à des déconstructions. La compréhension de l’oeuvre n’est pas immédiate, cependant des gestes soulignent l’acte de peinture. Ce sont des gestes d’annulation, de recouvrement de la surface et de renouvellement, qui interpellent le public. Selon Oppenheim « rendre le spectateur attentif à l’activité artistique est un élément central. Le travail devrait intentionnellement ébranler toute compréhension de ce qui se décrit dans un effort rapide et simple; et devrait, au contraire, en inquiétant le spectateur, provoquer un processus de réflexion et d’analyse ».

Yves Oppenheim vit et travaille à Berlin. Des musées comme l’ARC (1988), le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes, le Centre d’art contemporain du Domaine de Kerguèhennec (1998), ainsi que le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Gap (2000), lui ont consacrés des expositions personnelles. Son travail est présent dans les collections du Centre Pompidou, du Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, ou du Carré d’Art de Nîmes. Yves Oppenheim a récemment créé une installation pour la Galerie Max Hetzler de Berlin, où il a été présenté à de nombreuses reprises (2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2009 et 2012). Il a exposé à la Galerie Xippas de Paris et Athènes (2006 et 2010), à la Galerie Xavier Hufkens de Bruxelles (2005), à la Galerie Pedro Cera de Lisbonne (2009) et à la Galerie Perry Rubenstein de New-York (2011).

Page liée artiste: - Yves Oppenheim

jeudi 13/09 - samedi 3/11, 2012

Rue des Sablons 6, 1205, Geneva, Switzerland
tel. +41 22 321 94 14

Loading Events

« Back

Yves Oppenheim


2012-09-13 - 2012-11-03, Geneva

  • This event has passed.

His paintings use a formal and abstract language through a baroque-like pictorial treatment. Some vivid and luminous coloured shapes with their clearly demarked contours seem to be cut into pieces and contrast with black curves. The texture varying between opaque and transparent offers a play in which the forms intertwine and overlap on the surface.

The artist tries to capture and extract what resists. “A personal archaeology” which leads him to explore the stratums of a “collective unconsciousness.” The energy spent to extract shapes is expressed through the density and the stratums superimposition in his paintings. The act of painting, says Oppenheim, “is to physically confront one’s unconscious. […] The painting does not happen with ideas, but with the body. It is an understanding of the world through the body. It is not a matter of having ideas, but rather to eliminate them.”

Superimposed forms, interlaced and transparent, depict the successive constructions and deconstructions that constitute the painting, thereby putting into question the making of the pictures. The gestures of invalidating, of re-covering the surface and of starting over are characteristic of Oppenheim’s work. They focus on the very act of painting and at the same time prohibit an immediate understanding of the work. According to Oppenheim, “making the spectator aware of the artistic activity itself is central. The work should intentionally undermine any effort to quickly and simply understand what is depicted; on the contrary, by disquieting the spectator, it should provoke a process of reflection and analysis.”

Yves Oppenheim lives and works in Berlin. Leading museums such as the ARC, the Paris Museum of Modern Art (1988), the Nantes Museum of Fine Arts, the Contemporary Art Center of Domaine de Kerguèhennec (1998), as well as the Fine Arts Museum in Gap (2000), have hosted his solo exhibitions. His work is part of the prestigious collections of the Centre Georges Pompidou, the Paris Museum of Modern Art and the Carré d’Art in Nîmes. Oppenheim has had exhibitions in Germany at the Max Hetzler Gallery (2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2009) and created a special installation in 2012 at the gallery‘s Project Space in Weidingen / Eifel. He was presented in Paris and Athens at the Xippas Gallery (2006 and 2010), in Brussels at the Xavier Hufkens Gallery (2005), in Lisbon at the Pedro Cera Gallery (2009) and in New York City at the Perry Rubenstein Gallery (2011).

The exhibition Yves Oppenheim will be on view at 6, rue des Sablons in Geneva until November 3, from Tuesday to Friday from 11am to 7pm and on Saturday from 1pm to 5pm.

Related artist page: - Yves Oppenheim

Thursday 13/09 - Saturday 3/11, 2012

Rue des Sablons 6, 1205, Geneva, Switzerland
tel. +41 22 321 94 14